Access Denied error when adding a link to favorites after upgrading to IE10

Today Microsoft made Internet Explorer 10 for Windows 7 globally available, so I downloaded and installed it without hesitation and upgraded the browser on my machine within a few minutes. Although the upgrade was really quick and smooth, after the restart I realized that I couldn’t add a new link to the favorites, because it failed with an Access Denied error.

I launched Sysinternals Process Monitor which gave me a hint to check the NTFS owner of my Favorites folder. I did reset the owner to myself and voila, the error was gone immediately.


Leave a Reply

