Windows 8 activation error: Code 0x8007232b

UPDATE: You can do that from the GUI too!

If you installed Windows 8 from a volume licence media, you will probably see the following error message when you try to activate Windows:

Activation Error: Code 0x8007232b
DNS Name does not exist

The solution, just like earlier with Windows Server 2008, is to enter a valid product key, that was not requested during installation.

Unfortunately, this new version of Windows does not provide the Change product key option in the Computer properties window, so you will need an elevated Command Prompt:


That’s all, now you can activate Windows without any error (hopefully).



53 thoughts on “Windows 8 activation error: Code 0x8007232b

  1. Pingback: How MSDN members that only have access to Windows 8 VL (Volume License) editions can activate their Retail Key | Tinkertry

  2. Pingback: Activating volume licence Windows 8 from the GUI « Codes from the field

  3. Chris

    You need to right-click on CMD.EXE and select “Run as administrator….” NOT “Run as a different user…..” who happens to have administrative privileges. I made that mistake with the latter approach and the key won’t update.

  4. Pingback: WOWZAPP preparation materials « Codes from the field

  5. Mike McFadyean

    Thanks so much for this!
    I can’t believe that this shiny new OS requires me to use Command Prompt to do something so fundamental as enter an activation code. Very poor show Microsoft!

  6. cliff

    Thanks. Worked. Nice to see something work for a change. Plug and Pray,,,,,,,,
    Wondered why they didn’t fix that before?????

    1. Balássy György Post author

      You’re right, Cliff, it’s not the best first time experience with Windows 8, but I believe it is really because that the volume licence media is designed for enterprises, that active clients in large volume.

  7. john dvd

    when i type “slmgr.vbs-ato” it reads as it is not an internal or external command,an operable program.pls hlp me

  8. Pingback: Activating volume licence Windows 8 from the GUI «

  9. Pingback: Windows 8 Enterprise activation error: Code 0x8007232b | Think out of the net!

  10. Phil

    I get “Installed product key successfully” message after running the .vbs but my error remains the same (0x8007232B) when I then try and activate. This is so frustrating. I created the server as a VM on an ESXi host and installed Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise 64 bit.

  11. Karsten Kühn

    That is really strange.
    I ran into the same error (0x8007232B) after having set my Windows 8 tablet to factory settings. I did “slmgr.vbs –ipk “ENTER-YOUR-PRODUCT-KEY-HERE” and it says” Installed product key successfully”. But I cannot activate windows 8.

    Really strange: I don’t think, that I have a volume licence, since i bought the windows tablet from a larger department store in Germany.

    Can anyone help?

  12. Kentikki

    Neither fix worked for me. Nor did doing a clean boot or ipconfig/release etc. All run as administrator.

  13. GreycoderII

    !THANK YOU! Worked perfectly. To check after update switch to desktop, then Settings , then Control Panel, then System , Basic info lists Windows Activated and license key.

      1. Jon Limpalair

        I’m really confused, I’ve never heard of KMS but I’m getting this error as well. Looks like the key for my windows 8 is one listed on that link. I don’t understand why because I bought this for personal use at home. Does that mean I can’t activate my windows 8 unless I buy a retail version?

  14. Balássy György Post author

    Hi Jon,

    Well, if your key is one of the KMS Client Setup Keys, then I’m afraid you won’t be able to activate it without KMS. I recommend you to contact the retailer, I guess they sold you a volume licence media.

  15. Johng709

    I do accept as true with all of the concepts you have offered in your post. They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for beginners. May you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post. ebdcdafegdca

  16. Pingback: Fix Error Code 0x8007232b Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 [Solved]

  17. T-Bone-Texas

    Did anyone provide a solution for the activation still failing even thought the slmgr.vbs -/ipk (your serial key here) finished with a successful message? I still get the not activated BS on my install but I have a valid license.

  18. Pingback: How To Fix Windows 8 Error Code 0x80072f8f in Windows

  19. Pingback: How To Fix Windows Defender Error Code Windows 8 in Windows

  20. Pingback: How To Fix Windows 8 Error Code 0x80072ee2 in Windows

Leave a Reply

